Summer Adventures

Picture_13626_taken_on_2015-06-20_164034
I  just recently celebrated my birthday and I had quite the adventure when I did. I went to Camelback Mountain Adventures over the weekend. Everyone knows Camelback for their skiing or waterpark but their Mountain Adventures area is fairly new. I’m telling you all of this because all of their parks are so close to Mis and there is something to do for every season.

Picture_12608_taken_on_2015-06-20_164303(1)
I went on their 4000′ zip line, which no big deal, is the tallest in North America! Even on a cloudy day it was still breathtakingly beautiful. You can reach speeds up to 60 mph, which did create a few tears to roll down my face. You take the ski lift up to the top of the mountain which gives you enough time to calm down your nerves, but as soon as you get to the platform where you take off, all of the nerves come rushing back! It’s all worth it though once you feel like a bird soaring over literally everything! You might be shaking after you get off, but I’m pretty sure that’s normal since you just flew for almost a mile!

Picture_13640_taken_on_2015-06-20_164036(1)
After that rush I went to do their treetops adventure course. Because of a time constraint I did their half course, which allows you to do 3 out of the 5 courses. They harness you up and send you to a demo course where you get to practice each of the obstacles you’ll be facing. The best part of all of this is you do it all on your own. You attach and reattach yourself to the wires and hook up the zip line all by yourself. There are guides there that will help you when you need it (and warn you when you’re not doing something safely). There’s plenty of zip lines throughout it and they get longer and higher as you continue through the courses. There’s obstacles like moving bridges, nets, and Tarzan ropes that you have to conquer. You get such a strong sense of independence from doing all of this and it really makes you feel great! It was one of the best experiences/adventures I’ve ever had and I strongly recommend doing it to anyone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by alliegatormu. Bookmark the permalink.

About alliegatormu

Hey I'm Allison or otherwise known as Alligator. I am currently a senior (yay grad school!) at MU studying speech-language pathology. I love MU because it reminds me of my high school; it's a tight-knit community where people hold doors for you no matter how far away you are. My favorite time on campus is in the fall, it is absolutely gorgeous. When I'm not studying I'm either reading or watching Netflix (yes I am a junkie). I also really love food, so cooking and baking are fun too!

Leave a Reply

