Being Proud

Summer has finally arrived, which means for the most part everyone returned home for the next three months. I myself have returned home for possibly the last summer (I have grad school next summer and after graduation I’m sure I will be moved out of my parents house). So the subject of today is home. My home. I absolutely love it here in Sullivan County, Pennsylvania. The reason I chose Misericordia is because it reflected the same environment I had grown up with. A small tight-knit school that has open areas and kind people. When most people talk about home they refer to the town they live in, I refer to the whole county, because it’s that small. The whole county attended one elementary school and one high school, a total of 300 some kids attended the high school alone. That’s why I chose Misericordia, because it was a small school and that’s what I wanted.

There was a trend recently that involved  #misericordiaproud, I really enjoyed seeing people’s posts about why they love MU and what made them choose MU.

It reminded me of why you should always be proud of who you are and where you come from. I’m extremely proud of being a student at MU but I’m also proud of coming from Sullivan County(SC). I think telling you why would be enough, but if you’re still not convinced then the pictures should say it all. The best part about this is it’s all within 2 hours of MU’s campus so you can visit any of these places during the school year!

The Places
Worlds End State Park
Shrouded by clouds, mountains march to the horizon in this photo of the Worlds End Vista at Worlds End State Park, Pennsylvania.
It’s a state park that spans over 750 acres of hiking, swimming, camping, fishing, and any other outdoor activity you can think of.

Ricketts Glen State Park
A hiking trail climbs near the waterfall Ozone at Ricketts Glen State Park, Pennsylvania.
Another state park that has over 20 waterfalls including a 94-foot one. They also have a lake that you can swim, kayak, and fish at.

High Knob Overlook

It has one of the most amazing views in the whole county, especially during the fall, with an elevation of almost 2,000 feet .

The Events
Dushore’s Founders Day
Dushore Founders Day and Outhouse Races
One of the most notable events the county has is the Dushore Founders Day. It has events throughout one day that include a toilet painting seat contest, a pet parade and an outhouse race. I know all of this sounds absurd but check out the youtube link of the outhouse races to get a better understanding as to why hundreds of people come from all over to watch the event once a year. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FO2554wavno Fun fact: I’m the driver of the silver outhouse!

Winterfest

An event that takes place in february that involves people jumping into a frozen lake in order for a chance to receive a prize (yes we acknowledge that we do some crazy things in this county!). There’s also an ice fishing competition.

PA Bowhunter’s Festival

Once a year our county gets the honor of holding the bowhunter’s festival for the whole state (probably because we have a large quantity of hunters). It is the world’s largest archery event.

There is so much more to see and do in my favorite little place in the world, just visiting and seeing the sights is an experience within itself! I’m proud of where I came from and #misericordiaproud of where I am!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by alliegatormu. Bookmark the permalink.

About alliegatormu

Hey I'm Allison or otherwise known as Alligator. I am currently a senior (yay grad school!) at MU studying speech-language pathology. I love MU because it reminds me of my high school; it's a tight-knit community where people hold doors for you no matter how far away you are. My favorite time on campus is in the fall, it is absolutely gorgeous. When I'm not studying I'm either reading or watching Netflix (yes I am a junkie). I also really love food, so cooking and baking are fun too!

Leave a Reply

