Summer Adventures

There’s only 3.5 weeks of school left. Yes that is correct! So between now and then you have some time to create the ultimate summer bucket list. I want to make this summer extremely memorable because it’s my last free summer I have before the real world begins. To me the definition of an awesome summer is having the perfect job (which I almost have in place), having your friends around (unfortunately most of them aren’t home for the summer), spending time with family (I will live with them so that one is easy) and planning the most perfect adventures (I have a few in mind). So I’m almost there! I really am excited for this summer though, because I want to do a bunch of new things I’ve never done before and guarantee a summer full of fun! So I wanted to give you great readers some of the fun adventures I want to do this summer so you can plan an amazing summer full of adventures for yourself!


Go to a Carnival
I loooooove carnivals (or fairs)! Between the oh-so-bad for you food and the dizzying rides, it’s one of my favorite parts of summer! They’re also usually on the cheaper side and you can usually find one to go to pretty frequently! To make it interesting go on a ride that no one in your group would ever go on or play the game that you know you’re guaranteed to lose but they give you a prize anyways. Whatever you do just make sure you enjoy the atmosphere (or people watch) because that’s the best part of carnivals!


Take a Road Trip
I know you’re thinking that gas is really expensive, but is that the part you’ll remember when you look back in 20 years and think of the time you spent four days living out of a car (you don’t have to stay in your car on a road trip). So anyways go! Pick some place close or go across the country. Go with one friend or go with all of your friends (hey you could even go with your parents). You can do a day trip to some place you’ve always wanted to go, but never had the chance. Just make sure when you road trip you pack all of the essentials: good snacks, good music, good car and a good driver!


Water Park It
Why wouldn’t you go to the water park this summer? You’re outside soaking up the sun, but cooling off at the same time! It really is the perfect combination! I agree that water parks can be a little more on the expensive side, so if that is the case then please replace water parks with:


Build Your Own Water Park
So we’ve already established that water parks are expensive, but building your own is much cheaper and easier! Start out with a slip ‘n’ slide, throw in some water balloons and water guns and you have your own H2O experience in your backyard!


Go to a Concert/Music Festival
The best time to hear some good music is during the summer! Everyone is in such a good mood and the concert is usually outside! That means you can snag some cheap lawn tickets and have plenty of space to dance around!


Switch Up Your Workout
It’s easy to run outside all summer to fit in your workout, but you should change it up every now and then! There are so many outdoor activities that still count as a good workout. I know you’re thinking hiking and biking, but reconsider and think kayaking/canoeing, paddle boarding or surfing


Go to Someplace New/Do Something New
This kind of goes along with road tripping, but it could be local. Maybe you have a historical place across the street that you’ve never got around to going to. Or maybe there’s a local craft show that you’ve always wanted to attend. Go to a restaurant in town you’ve never been to and order something you normally wouldn’t get. Summer is the time to do whatever you want and push your limits, so order the caviar risotto dish and laugh when you show people the face you made when you tried it. Or do something crazy like skydiving or para-sailing, that you’ve always been afraid to do. There is nothing wrong with overcoming your fears. Most people don’t regret trying something new because they grow from it and it shows them more of who they are.


Read a Great Book
Your summer doesn’t have to involve you going somewhere and doing something all the time. Sometimes your adventure can be in an imaginary world. So read that book you pushed aside all semester or read one that you know will stretch your creative thinking or will cause you to do some deep thinking. No matter what, I know you’ll enjoy reading it.


Go Star Gazing

No matter where you are there are stars there (you might just have to get further away from the city to see them). One of my favorite things to do is spend a warm summer night looking at the stars and just relaxing. Of course along with this I suggest building a fire and having some s’mores, but camping is a whole different adventure, that you should do!


Go to an Adventure Park
I’m thinking rock climbing (outdoors or indoors) or zip lining, pretty much just about anything that will get your adrenaline pumping. No it doesn’t have to be bungee jumping but it can be something a little crazy!


Spend Some Time On Yourself
Slow things down a bit and take a day or two (maybe even once a week) to focus on yourself. Think about it, you spend time with people for almost nine months straight (your friends, family or roommates). So take the summer to really focus on relaxing and working on yourself so you can start the next semester a better you! (Yes I realize I sound like an inspirational speaker!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by alliegatormu. Bookmark the permalink.

About alliegatormu

Hey I'm Allison or otherwise known as Alligator. I am currently a senior (yay grad school!) at MU studying speech-language pathology. I love MU because it reminds me of my high school; it's a tight-knit community where people hold doors for you no matter how far away you are. My favorite time on campus is in the fall, it is absolutely gorgeous. When I'm not studying I'm either reading or watching Netflix (yes I am a junkie). I also really love food, so cooking and baking are fun too!

Leave a Reply

