#TBT Freshmen Orientation!

I’m sure you’re all tired of your friends “#tbt” (that’s throwback Thursday for anyone who has yet to catch up to social media era) posts on Instagram every single Thursday from only a week ago, but with the first dates of freshmen orientation starting tomorrow (!!) I figured it was fitting 🙂

Instead of a long boring post where I recap every single thing that happened at my orientation that seems interesting to me but will probably put you all to sleep, I’m going to attempt to sum it up in a little “do” and “don’t” column.

DO:

Talk to everyone! I know this one can be terrifying for most people, I mean there’s hundreds of people there that have no idea who you are and you’re just supposed to randomly say hi? Um yes, you are! Everyone there is in the same situation as you and I doubt most of them have that many friends yet, so yes try to talk to everyone you meet that day: people you sit next to, orientation leaders, faculty members, literally everyone!

Ask Questions!!! Seriously. Ask any question you have, even if you think it’s silly or people will make fun of you, ask it. No one is going to remember it but you. I actually asked the most obvious question during our student panel (scared out of my mind) “what do you guys actually do for fun?” and everyone laughed but it was a good question! and I swear only I remember that I asked it 😛

Pay Attention! You are getting a lot of information thrown at you, but I promise 97% of it is extremely important (I calculated exactly). Listen to the information you are getting and try to remember it because you will need it!

Take advantage of the super boring lame “necessary” things. I made my first friend during some annoying computer test that we had to take after we finished and I just blurted out “I think I just failed out of college before it started” and the boy next to me laughed and said he did to. Yeah you have to do the clerical work, but you can complain about it with your peers

HAVE FUN, MAKE FRIENDS. That’s the point!!! Oh and welcome to college 🙂

DON’T:

Cling to the first person you become friendly with. Orientation is a great time to meet up with your possible roommate or people you’ve talked to online, but don’t just gravitate towards the people you already know. Try to sit next to someone different every chance you get!

Ignore your parents. While this is your first exposure to being independent and mature, don’t leave your parents out of it. You’re going through this process together and they are super proud that you got here so introduce them to the new friends you made at lunch or stop by the bookstore and get them a shirt!

Talk about high school nonstop. Yes I know most of you recently graduated (duh) and finally survived your four years of high school, but I promise no one really cares that your freshmen year your football team made it to states or that your history teacher just accepted your Facebook friend request. Use high school as a jumping off point to talk about how you chose Mis!

Be afraid of the new people you meet. This includes the faculty chair of your major, your Orientation leader, the football player sitting in front of you, the group of girls sitting together at lunch…you deserve to be here just as much as everyone else so don’t be intimidated!

Try to be too cool. Sorry, it’s just not going to happen. Chances are it’ll be thousand degrees, you’ll be out of breath from playing icebreaker games and you’ll be too tried to pretend to be someone you aren’t. Yeah the games are silly, yeah you might have to dance embarrassingly or trip walking up the stairs (welcome to my life) but it’s okay! Embrace everything that happens and go with the flow 🙂

 

See you guys there!!

-R

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , by jerseystrongrach. Bookmark the permalink.

About jerseystrongrach

Hey guys! My name is Rachel and I'm a Junior at Misericordia as an undergraduate psychology major in the pre-DPT program. Although I'm a Jersey girl at heart (can't you tell!?), Misericordia has become my home away from home and I absolutely love it here. My favorite part about MU is that it's so easy to get involved- I'm super excited because this summer I'll be an orientation leader! When I'm not running from class to class or stuck studying in the library (ugh) you can probably find me cooking or out for a run. And even though I've learned to love PA, I'm a diehard NY Giants, Rangers and Mets fan!

Leave a Reply

