High School vs. College: Internalized

High school

Riiiiiiiiiiiiiing, riiiiiiiiiiiiiing, riiiiiiiiiiiiiing.

8:03 a.m. Great! I think sarcastically to myself as I walk to my first period class. I just love the sound of the high school bell on Monday morning. I wonder what college will be like. I’m imagining no annoying bells, no annoying dress code and no rules. Well, maybe there will be some rules…but I heard some professors let you snack in class, so that’s something to get excited about. Until then I guess I’m stuck here. Not that I hate it…I mean, I actually kind of like high school. I’m just looking forward to some change. Oooompf. Well it’s a good thing I just tripped in front of everybody in the entire hallway. Okay yeah, I can’t wait to get out of here.

Thus begins yet another week of prying open my jammed locker with a crowbar and drinking chocolate milk for lunch like I have for the past twelve years of my life.

10:39 a.m. Sheesh, second period couldn’t have dragged on any longer, and I actually ENJOY English class. Good thing I have long enough hair to cover my face so the teacher couldn’t tell I had my eyes closed the entire time. These are the practical things I learn in high school. Like, what’s up with calculus? When am I EVER going to need to know this stuff in the future? Math class can keep its problems…I have my own. Their names are Chemistry, Physics and Ceramics 101.

11:44 a.m. I’m so glad I decided to tuck in my polo today. I’d hate to be that boy who just got detention for forgetting to tuck in his shirt after using the bathroom. You’ve got to love this school’s dress code, really. Nothing screams individualism like five hundred pairs of knee-length khakis.

12:00 p.m. It’s Beef n’ Cheddar Sandwich Day in the cafeteria?! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THIS IS A NATIONAL HOLIDAY

12:53 p.m. Oh, you poor girl, let me help you pick up your books that Mean Marnie knocked out of your hands again. Like, who does she think she is? Somebody needs to set that girl straight.

1:28 p.m. Drama Club practice got switched to 5:00? What?! No! Thanks a lot, Mr. Rooney! Now I’ll have to go to the National Honor Society meeting before softball practice and I’ll only have seven minutes to eat dinner before my scene because afterward I have to do my Student Council volunteer project and I need to collect Relay for Life donations before I go to band practice. Good thing I didn’t want to leave school until midnight anyway.

2:38 p.m. COME ON COME ON COME ON GO BABY GO YOU CAN DO IT MISTER CLOCK ONLY FOUR MORE MINUTES! We’ve only got four minutes to save the world! Heh heh. A punny reference to a song about having four minutes left. Gotta love Madonna.

2:42 p.m. Riiiiiiiiiiiiiing, riiiiiiiiiiiiiing, riiiiiiiiiiiiiing. I…I did it. I’m alive. I’M FREEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!


 

College

11:07 a.m. *Roll over. Yawn. Stretch.* Mmmmmmm. Wow, what a fantastic night of sleep! And that dream about not having a quiz today was simply magnificent. I haven’t slept this well since the night after I stayed up for nineteen hours straight studying for my Shakespeare exam. But I guess it’s time to enter the real world and get ready for my 11:00 a.m. class. Weird…I didn’t even hear the alarm clock sound on my phone. Speaking of which, where is my cell pho…

11:09 a.m. WHAT!?! I’M LATE FOR CLASS!!! Ooompf. Seriously, who put that chair there? Gaaah, of course I lost my other shoe. Go figure my roommate is still asleep so I have to be quiet while I’m running around being all late and whatnot. Oops, that wasn’t my toothbrush. Uggh, where is my notebook?! My 11:11 wish is for the professor to start class fifteen minutes late. Is it acceptable to wear what I slept in to class? …Absolutely.

11:17 a.m. Phew, only seventeen minutes late. Alright, self…act natural walking into class.

11:17:33 a.m. …Where is everybody? 

*Written on chalkboard: “Class cancelled today. Quiz postponed. Have a good day. :)”*

Okay, so that happened. Now what? I guess I can go to the library to start studying my manual for my lab practical on Friday. I’m not too worried about it…after all, I already know what’s on the test because those nice nursing majors who took the same class last semester let me borrow their notes and even helped me study. Making connections with upperclassmen is a major key to success. Gosh, I love knowing college hacks.

12:59 p.m. All of this studying is making me hungry, or is that because I missed breakfast? I seriously never realized how important breakfast is until I came to college. I also wish my parents would still wake me up in the morning for class so then maybe I wouldn’t miss breakfast. Or miss seventeen minutes of class, for that matter. But I’m in college now and I’ve got to start being more independent. I AM MY OWN PERSON. Breakfast, alarm clocks and sleep are the essentials. I’m definitely feeling this grilled chicken salad today. Mmmm.

1:45 p.m. I wonder how many participation points I have in this class. I raise my hand to answer, like, every other question. Does participation even count toward my final grade? Well, it depends on the professor. Wow, I’m answering my own questions in my head. I definitely need to organize a movie night later for some socialization.

3:21 p.m. I cannot believe I’m not the only person who brings three pencils to class on exam day. I finally fit in.

4:10 p.m. So begins the fun part of my day- scheduling the good stuff. Should I go to my Student Government meeting before or after I get the free food and goodies from the career fair? Do I want to go to the gym to work out with my roommate or with my volleyball team? Should I go see the magician on campus or watch the free movie in the library? What should I snack on while I’m reading over my notes from lecture in case we have a pop quiz? Decisions, decisions.

7:44 p.m. Going to gym and then dinner is a good idea, I’ve decided. I feel like after working out I’m inclined to eat more carefully. Seeing “The Freshman Fifteen” come alive for some people has made me want to take better care of my own body.

9:01 p.m. I missed my nap today since I was running around so much after my classes. I’m going to sleep like a baby tonight, metaphorically speaking. Once this movie night is over I’m going to pass out on top of my superhero sheets. YIKES the popcorn is burning!!! If I set off the fire alarm the entire building will have to evacuate…pleeeease oh please don’t let me be “that guy” who sets off the fire alarm!!!!

10:47 p.m. It was so nice talking to my parents on the phone today. I know I’m always so busy but I realize how much it means to them when I call them or any of my family members just to say hello. Very well, then. Teeth brushed, alarm set, breakfast and backpack ready for the morning. Here’s to another beautiful night that will turn into another beautiful morning.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Tori Lynn. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tori Lynn

Call me Tori. I supply my own happiness, but I always accept extra. I'm as excited as ever to take on spontaneous journeys and to welcome the small-but-important every day opportunities and blessings that come my way.

Leave a Reply

