“I wish someone told me…”

With the input of my own experiences, opinions from recent college grads and those older but wiser, I compiled a list of things that I wish I knew going into college freshmen year. Enjoy!

“I wish someone told me…”

  • That it’s okay to miss home
  • That your roommate(s) will at some point get on your nerves (STILL LOVE YOU GUYS THOUGH!!)
  • That the library is actually a great place to get work done
  • But that sometimes finding a completely blacked out room all alone in a secret location might be your best option
  • That sometimes you might not do a paper until the night of…and that’s okay (as long as it’s not a habit!)
  • That your mental health is just as important as school work and sometimes it is necessary to take a break
  • To meet a lot of new people and make as many friends as possible, even if you already love the ones you have
  • To keep in touch with your family members and old friends as often as you can while still enjoying your freedom and space
  • To try something new every day your first month of freshmen year (sit with new faces, try different food, study in a new location, take a different route to class, etc etc!!)
  • That things are constantly going to change, sometimes for the good and sometimes not
  • That your friendships will change from high school to college AND THEN will continue to change throughout the rest of your college years
  • To make friends with upperclassmen (not all of them are scary!)
  • To get to know each of teachers, even if you hate them, so at least you can justify why you hate them
  • That no one teacher is harder than the other, you just have to figure out what they are looking for
  • That you’re going to have to share things, get used to it
  • That everyone is not having more fun than you (that goes for the group of friends who ditched you, your high school friends at the huge “party school”, and the people going out on Thursday night while you’re studying for a major test)
  • That you will definitely have to study, a lot.
  • That sometimes life is more important than one class (use this one with caution!)
  • Enjoy your breaks/vacations now…they don’t carry over to real life!
  • Life isn’t all about your “big name” schools, people will care more about what you do with the education you receive and how well you can use it than where you went to college
  • College is a test of endurance…just keep swimming!
  • Not everyone has the opportunity to receive the education you are or has the options that are being offered to you right now, take advantage of them.
  • That not every day will be fun, but it makes the good days even better
  • That you don’t have to be like the people you meet, you just have to accept them
  • Every single person has something that makes them scared, nervous, insecure and excited
  • That it will eventually end, for better or for worse 🙂imagesACO9FO0T

-R

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , by jerseystrongrach. Bookmark the permalink.

About jerseystrongrach

Hey guys! My name is Rachel and I'm a Junior at Misericordia as an undergraduate psychology major in the pre-DPT program. Although I'm a Jersey girl at heart (can't you tell!?), Misericordia has become my home away from home and I absolutely love it here. My favorite part about MU is that it's so easy to get involved- I'm super excited because this summer I'll be an orientation leader! When I'm not running from class to class or stuck studying in the library (ugh) you can probably find me cooking or out for a run. And even though I've learned to love PA, I'm a diehard NY Giants, Rangers and Mets fan!

One thought on ““I wish someone told me…”

Leave a Reply

