All Are Welcome Here

Blink, blink, blink.

And just like that, two weeks of my summer have flown by since I have been working and living on campus.

Working in Student Activities as an orientation coordinator for first-year students requires endless planning, communication, organizing, attention to detail, and energy. Every day, every moment, I am given the opportunity to choose my attitude. And perhaps knowing this little secret to life is why I enjoy every day so much, even while I am working.

fish-philosophy-choose-your-attitude

  • The term “Choose your attitude” is one of four fabulous parts of the “Fish Philosophy.” This step of the Fish Philosophy emphasizes the importance of being conscious of your attitude in all situations. You can either make the best of the circumstances in front of you or the worst. You have the constant ability to control your attitude. Keep in mind also that your attitude has the ability to influence the people around you. If you’ve chosen the wrong attitude, it is never too late to switch to a new one! Stay tuned for more on the Fish Philosophy in future posts!

Already so many beautiful memories have been created during and outside of work and I look forward excitedly (and positively impatiently) to life’s up-and-coming adventures.

Our orientation theme this year is surely a classic: “The Future’s So Bright I Gotta Wear Shades!” This theme is only fitting because 2014 has already proven to be full of success and potential. If you are an incoming student, be prepared and stoked for a Misericordia orientation full of organized spontaneity, undeniably ingenious puns and worthwhile opportunities.

I am living on campus with one of my closest friends, a remarkable individual who I met my first semester at MU. Our most memorable first encounter occurred in the University chapel when we sat near each other and got excited about the songs on queue for that service. (Basically, we bonded over our mutual nerdiness.) We soon-to-be juniors currently reside in a double room in a townhouse of five girls who are all working and/or taking summer classes on campus.

P1160426

My roommate and I were basically destined to be friends.

I’ve spent my free time here so far bonding with my housemates and coworkers by embracing the pleasant weather and exploring the quaint Dallas area by going for runs and sharing laughs and stories over chicken finger and spaghetti dinners. As much as I love chicken fingers and dislike running, the never-ending, rolling, green hills of Pennsylvania never fail to fascinate and inspire me to keep pushing forward in all aspects of life.

10303778_10203367731969415_4607790183148412599_n

Here is a photo of my friends and me enjoying our delightful spaghetti dinner.

 

 

The summer is different than the school year on many levels because the stress of the academic semester is nonexistent. I recommend not living with a close friend during the regular school year, especially for your first year living on campus. Trust me…you’ll want to keep this advice in mind. It is exciting to make a new friend that perhaps you would not have connected with otherwise. Being open-minded when meeting people in college will help you learn to better enjoy/tolerate the company of new, diverse individuals.

 

DSC_0151

One of the best parts about being here for the summer is noticing the changes that occur just often enough to appreciate them each fully. Here are some of my favorite campus observations/current thoughts:

  • When summer rolls around so does the ambitious drive of the campus landscapers. It’s amazing what work they’ve been doing around here, work that will be further discussed in my next few conveniently bulleted points.
  • Walking through campus I am met by the scene o
    f a hundred bright flower pots scattered about campus. The view sure is something, to say the least.
  • The blooming trees bursting with color gently sway in the summer breeze, bringing honest tranquility to the scene (this sounds super cheesy, but it really is beautiful).
  • The fountain near the middle of campus continues to be my safe haven; its constancy and humbleness remind me that the most beautiful things in life don’t ask for attention (as stated in the film The Secret Life of Walter Mitty).
  • New directional signs have been rooted into the grounds, welcoming our visitors to campus and embracing MU’s charism of hospitality. (The four University charisms are great…stay tuned for more about them in future posts.)
  • It seems as though the glow of the evening sunsets continues to captivate me more every day; my eyes ritualistically follow the orange and pink beams painting the sky until it is time to celebrate yet another peaceful night.

Basically, if you haven’t yet visited campus on a summer day, I highly recommend doing so.

P1150712

My advice for you is to embrace this summer season in every way possible. As bright as the future may be, it starts now. Take positive advantage of the beauty around you and use what free time you might have to reflect on the small blessings that each day offers you. For the past two years Misericordia has been a sanctuary for me in which I can express myself and grow closer to realizing that the smallest things in life are often the most beautiful. My wish is that you, too, can come to find this same comfort and peace at Misericordia.

Overview:

  • Choose your attitude.
  • Be open-minded.
  • Get excited about little things. You might make a friend in doing so.
  • Don’t dorm with a friend your first semester. Explore new relationships.
  • Notice and appreciate the beauty around you.
  • Reflect.
  • Visit campus this summer.
  • The future starts now. (And it’s bright.)

tumblr_mzmvl6Umqz1snexhzo1_500

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Tori Lynn. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tori Lynn

Call me Tori. I supply my own happiness, but I always accept extra. I'm as excited as ever to take on spontaneous journeys and to welcome the small-but-important every day opportunities and blessings that come my way.

4 thoughts on “All Are Welcome Here

  1. Artistically written with a fun, insightful, and genuine attitude. Favorite quote: “It seems as though the glow of the evening sunsets continues to captivate me more every day; my eyes ritualistically follow the orange and pink beams painting the sky until it is time to celebrate yet another peaceful night.” Well done, Tori. Let the memories, opportunities and sunsets continue to shine on your passion for life. You are where you need to be.

    • Sarah, I couldn’t be more thankful for you reading my blog and forming such a positive opinion about it. I love that you shared your favorite quote. I can only hope the next blogs will be even better and you can continue to stay posted!! Thank you so much!!

      Tori

  2. I think you have found your calling. You are the Carrie Bradshaw of positive vibes. Are you old enough to know who that is? I think you are destined to be a blogger. Great post!

    • Thank you so much for reading and for your comment, Jenna!!! I’m still new to this whole blogging thing so there is only room for improvement in future posts. Now I’m going to have to watch some Sex in the City to get a better understanding of Carrie Bradshaw. 🙂

      Tori

Leave a Reply

